Remotely Connecting to the physical console on a WS2008 machine

I occasionally have a need to connect to my home Hyper-V server from work.    I usually stay logged on to the console of the home server and I want to connect to that logged on session.
 
There have been a number of changes to remote desktop in Windows Server 2008 and console and these are well documented (here is one such piece of info http://support.microsoft.com/kb/947723) so I’m not going to cover any of this, but I was having a problem connecting to the currently logged on console session because no matter what command I used (e.g. mstsc /v:server /admin) and I was supplying the same credentials as the currentrly logged on console session it just kept giving me a new session.
 
Now it used to work a few months ago, so I had to retrace in my mind what changes if any I might had made to affect this.   And it turns out that I did make one change, I had gone into the Terminal Server Configuration utility and changed it so that I the same user could log on to multiple sessions to do some other testing.  I changed this back so that a user can only have one rdp session and bingo .. all working again … I can log onto the console session.
 
Easy to get caught.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

