“Select folder to export from:” dialog box is blank – Outlook 2003

Got stung by this one today while trying to export some contacts from Outlook 2003 to send up to my Gmail contacts.  Looks a pretty widespread problem going by the number of people posting that they have encountered it.

While trying to use the Import and Export Wizard from Outlook 2003 the first thing I got was:

which suggests that I didn’t have the required translator installed.  So I said yes and it seemed to install ok.

Then when I got to the “Select folder to export from:” dialog box the area where you are supposed to be able to select a source folder to export from was blank.

Some advice here http://www.outlookbanter.com/outlook-installation/38076-select-folder-export-dialog-blank.html suggesting a Help | Detect and Repair in Outlook will fix it but sadly it did not fix it for me.

Other suggestion has been to export to a .PST file … interestingly if I do this the source file list shows up ok, and exporting to a PST works fine.  But still if I go back and try to export to a CSV file the source list dialog is still blank.

Eventual solution for me was to create a totally new Outlook profile and then it worked.  I pointed the new profile to my existing .OST file so that I didn’t have to recreate it from scratch since it’s over 1GB in size.

I use Outlook from 2 machines at work, and work uses roaming Windows profiles so I suspect that my problem was that I was using my “roaming” Outlook profile that was created on my other machine.  Creating a new profile on the 2nd machine seems to have been the answer.  Outlook profiles can be a bit sensitive to changes in environments and you can never any real insight as to why they are broken. 

All fixed now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment