The system administrator has set policies to prevent this installation

I was trying to install the Citrix ICA client on a new WS2008 R2 server I had built for home.  The ICA client is a .msi file and everytime I tried to install it I got the message “The system administrator has set policies to prevent this installation”

I am the system administrator with Domain Admin priviledges, and I haven’t set any policies so I couldn’t understand why I was hitting this issue especially since my previous server was a WS2008 R2 server as well I and installed the same programs on it without issue.

Anyway thanks to other contributors on the web the answer turned out to be a DisableMSI reg key I needed.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Installer

REG_DWORD

DisableMSI set to 0

The most helpful site for me was Rick Mitchell’s Stuff at:

http://blog.rickmitchellsolutions.com/2010/01/disablemsi-and-windows-server-2008-r2.html

Thanks Rick.

The issue can happen for any .msi file you try and install on a Win 2008 R2 server.  .EXE install files don’t seem to be a problem.

Other sites suggested adjusting the Enforcement policy under Software Restrictions Policies but this was not the answer for me.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The system administrator has set policies to prevent this installation

  1. Paul says:

    Thanks, this worked for me.
    There is also a Group Policy setting which enables this registry key
    start Group Policy – gpedit.msc
    Computer Configuration > Administration Templates > Windows Components > Windows Installer
    Find the policy for “Disable Windows Installer”
    Enable this policy and set to “Disable Windows Installer” = Never

Leave a Reply

